Skip to content

Understanding Chakras

If you’re new to meditation you may get nervous or confused when you hear people talking about chakras. I feel you. I’ve spent a lot of time wondering about these energy centers and their colors and exploring how to use them make life better. In fact, at one point in my early 20s, I convinced myself that  my orange chakra was blocked and that’s why I couldn’t get a boyfriend. A magazine told me so; so I figured it had to be true. Eventually though, I gave up and decided chakras weren’t my thing.

Fast forward to my 30s. After leaving an abusive relationship, I found my thoughts returning to chakras. I wanted to add them to my self-healing toolbox. I found that tuning into my chakras gave me direction, pointing me to the parts that were hurting or needed attention. 

In our Guided Meditations, you’ll learn to picture the structure of each chakra along your spine just by closing your eyes, relaxing your mind, and becoming more in tune with your own body. But, until then, here’s a quick overview to make you feel more comfortable:

Chakras are the energy centers in our bodies. Some people believe there are as many as 114, but we’re going to focus on the seven primary chakras along your spine. 


The root chakra is red. It’s located where your tailbone meets your sit bone and serves as our foundation to the earth.


The sacral chakra is orange. The sacral chakra sits just below your belly button. It’s responsible for  our connection to others, including our sexuality.

Solar Plexus

This chakra is yellow. The Solar Plexus is located in your upper abdomen.  When you say things like, “I feel it in my gut” you are referring to your Solar Plexus Chakra.  This chakra is all about self-esteem and self-assurance.


The heart chakra is green. If that confuses you, you’re not alone. You’ll find the heart chakra exactly where you’d expect to: in your chest. It, of course, is all about love. 


The throat chakra is blue.  This chakra represents verbal communication. This is an important chakra to focus on as you work to verbalize your feelings. 

Third Eye

This chakra is purple.  People, including me, often get nervous when you talk about this one.  However, despite its creepy name, the third eye chakra is simply about our own intuition and wisdom. This chakra is located between the eyes.


This chakra color is up to you. I mean it!  Mine has always been a white gold. Some people have a light silver or a light purple. The crown represents your spiritual side. Your connection to the world. Pure joy.

To learn about unblocking and balancing your chakras, join a Guided Meditation.


Listen to recent episodes of The SAGE Advice.


1.800.799.SAFE |


Meet our founder, Erin.


Learn more about 1:1 Mentorship